Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changing from PIF Before Statement to After Statement Cut

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Changing from PIF Before Statement to After Statement Cut

My monthly spend has been something like: 1800 on my CSP, 50ish on AMEX, and 200ish on my Apple Card.

I recently upgraded AMEX to BCP from BCE so that one will be getting way more love (grocery spend and streaming services so will be roughly 1000 amex, 1000 chase, Apple card 50ish).

I PIF each card before the statement cut except for Chase. I have been doing this for about 3-4 years. 

I want to change to letting my balances report to my credit, and then PIF after the statement like normal people (?Smiley Very Happy). Do you guys think this action will result in a large credit score decrease and/or look bad to the banks? I'm worried about making any sudden movements with my credit because of the state of everything right now.

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23
Gmood1
Super Contributor

Re: Changing from PIF Before Statement to After Statement Cut

I don't pay any of my CCs before statement cuts. Looking at the cards in my signature. Does it look like banks have an issue with it? lol

You'll be fine. IMHO your credit profile will actually be stronger allowing your usage to report. Proof is in the pudding..I have a lot of pudding. LMAO

Message 2 of 24
coldfusion
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

If you took a scoring hit I suspect it would mostly be due to having 50+ % of your cards reporting balances and would be small-to-moderate but if you continue to PIF the reported balances each month it shouldn't cause alarm. 

If it were me I wouldn't worry about it but if the just the thought of that happening stresses you then don't do it. 

(3/2024)
FICO 8 (EX) 846 (TU) 850 (EQ) 850
FICO 9 (EX) 850 (TU) 850 (EQ) 850

$1M+ club

Artist formerly known as the_old_curmudgeon who was formerly known as coldfusion
Message 3 of 24
UpperNwGuy
Valued Contributor