cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase Signup Bonuses - Manufactured spending?!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase Signup Bonuses - Manufactured spending?!

Hey everyone, 

I was recently approved for the Sapphire Preferred and Freedom Unlimited last week. Currently I'm a full-time college student, and so all my living/personal expenses (rent, utilities, etc), and tuition are covered by my parents. I realized that I could easily hit the signup bonuses of both cards if I used them to pay the monthly rent for my apartment. Would this be considered manufactured spending if my parents gave me a check/transferred funds to my checking account to cover the rent costs? Any advice would be helpful! 

17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Chase Signup Bonuses - Manufactured spending?!

@Anonymous wrote:

Hey everyone, 

I was recently approved for the Sapphire Preferred and Freedom Unlimited last week. Currently I'm a full-time college student, and so all my living/personal expenses (rent, utilities, etc), and tuition are covered by my parents. I realized that I could easily hit the signup bonuses of both cards if I used them to pay the monthly rent for my apartment. Would this be considered manufactured spending if my parents gave me a check/transferred funds to my checking account to cover the rent costs? Any advice would be helpful! 

No. If they're going to deposit the money in your account for you so you can pay off the charges, I say go for it

Message 2 of 18
MrCreditInternational
Frequent Contributor

I used Plastiq and my university's portal to pay for my university housing without a problem. It's not considered manufactured spending.

My university's portal charged around 2.9% and Plasti takes 2.5%, but they usually run promotions