Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chase sapphire approval odds

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Chase sapphire approval odds

So I am pretty new to all of this, but I really would like to get the Chase Sapphire or preffered credit card. I have limited credit history consisting of a Barclays card of 1 year at 2300 CL and a Chase freedom for 6 months at 500 CL. I got my TU(736) and EQ(741) from myfico but have no clue what my EX fico is. I have 2 checking accounts with chase for 6 months as well and make an annual income of $35,000. What are my chances of getting approved, or how long should I wait? Thanks.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

Re: Chase sapphire approval odds

If Chase starts you at $500 that means you are borderline on your credit. Because you have limited credit history your credit score means nothing. High credit score cannot cover the fact that you have thin file. One reason why you should never get too in love with credit score, because it can be biased/skewed.

I suggest you wait for 6 more months. Sapphire lineup is even harder to get than Freedom. In the mean time get that Freedom some CLI.

Message 2 of 5
CreditScholar
Valued Contributor

@trumpet-205 wrote:

If Chase starts you at $500 that means you are borderline on your credit. Because you have limited credit history your credit score means nothing. High credit score cannot cover the fact that you have thin file. One reason why you should never get too in love with credit score, because it can be biased/skewed.

I suggest you wait for 6 more months. Sapphire lineup is even harder to get than Freedom. In the mean time get that Freedom some CLI.

+1.

A $500 CL and a low income are going to work against you here. In the meantime you'll need to garden, use your Freedom regularly and PIF, and try for a CLI after 6 months. A Sapphire may be 9-12 months out for you at this point.

EX 798, EQ 789, TU 784