Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Close 10 year old card?

tag
janderson126
Contributor

Close 10 year old card?

Hi ALL, 

I have been debating to close a 10-Year-old card for quite a few months now. 

It has an APR of around 20% and 3.00 AF. I am not too concerned about the AF; however, I don't use the card a lot. I am sure it has one of my bills to keep it open - It is set up on auto-pay. 

I have been keeping it open for AAOC. Of course, I have another card that is 15 years old that may counter-act it or balance it out. 

What would you suggest or do? In my shoes - any help on this would be appreciated. 

Thank you for your help in advance. 

AMEX Delta Gold | Travel | 5k | 12/19
AMEX Delta Plat | 7k | 4/21
Navy Rewards | Gas | 18k | 06/20
Capone Savor | Entertainment | 3.5k | 1/20
Cap one | 6.5k | 1/10
Cap one Walmart | 2k| 10/17
PayPal Master Card | 2% Everyday Spend | 15k | 6/20
Venmo | 12K | 01/2024

Message 1 of 30
29 REPLIES 29
FormerCollegeDJ
Frequent Contributor

Re: Close 10 year old card?

I recommend closing the card.  The card will stay on your credit report for a few years, and perhaps more importantly you'll have greater peace of mind if you close the card rather than continually debating whether you should close it or not when your gut is telling you that you should.

Playing the credit card rewards game since early May 2020.

Current credit cards:
American Express: Hilton Honors
Bank of America: Customized Cash Rewards Visa
Capital One: SavorOne MC
Chase: Amazon Visa, Freedom Unlimited Visa, Freedom Flex MC
Citi: Sears/ThankYou Rewards MC, My Best Buy Visa, Custom Cash MC
Comenity: AAA Travel Advantage Visa
Discover: Cash It
Elan: S&T Bank Max Cash Preferred Visa
FNBO: Amtrak Guest Rewards Platinum MC
PSECU: Founder's Visa
U.S. Bank: Cash+ Visa
Wells Fargo: Autograph Visa
Store cards: Kohl's

Next target credit cards: Wells Fargo Bilt Mastercard (probably), Truist Enjoy Travel Visa (maybe)
Message 2 of 30
Ficoproblems247
Valued Contributor