cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Close CC and open up new (better) CC starting out?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Close CC and open up new (better) CC starting out?

Hello

I am new to rebuilding my credit. I opened up an builder unsecured CC 4 months ago (using the AZEO method) and have imporved my score a lot (550-->740). Unfortunately its a terrible card as most of these are ($300 limit and $75 AF!). I cannot increase the limit. I was thinking of closing it after 2 more months and opening up the Discover It reward card. I know I will take a hit but will it be that bad if the CC i close hasnt had any longevity? I plan to keep the new CC around a long time. I just dont want to pay fees and have a dumb low limit. thanks!

16 REPLIES 16
Binner
Established Member

Re: Close CC and open up new (better) CC starting out?

550 to 740 in four months? You shouldnt worry about your cards and write a book instead. LOL!

Message 2 of 17
Horseshoez
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello

I am new to rebuilding my credit. I opened up an builder unsecured CC 4 months ago (using the AZEO method) and have imporved my score a lot (550-->740). Unfortunately its a terrible card as most of these are ($300 limit and $75 AF!). I cannot increase the limit. I was thinking of closing it after 2 more months and opening up the Discover It reward card. I know I will take a hit but will it be that bad if the CC i close hasnt had any longevity? I plan to keep the new CC around a long time. I just dont want to pay fees and have a dumb low limit. thanks!

Hmmm, 550 to 740 in four months; I'm thinking highly unlikely.  What scores are you talking about and where did you get them?

I categorically refuse to do AZEO!
Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

fico9 sorry 580 not 550. anyway, any advice? TY!

Message 4 of 17
Binner
Established Member