Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closing low limit cards?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Closing low limit cards?

I’m wondering if I should close an old card with a low limit.

Cards I have:

Amex Everyday - limit $18K, opened 2017
Discover It - limit $19K, opened 2017
Capital One Quicksilver, limit $8k opened 2012
Chase amazon prime, limit $400, opened 2006
Credit Union card - limit $9k, opened 2002

Store cards:
Dell, limit $4K, opened 2016
Amazon/synchrony, limit $4k, opened 2015
Victoria’s Secret/comenity, limit $1.4K, opened 2014
Loft/comenity, limit $1.7K, opened 2013
Target, limit $2k, opened 2003
New York & co/comenity, limit $1.8K, opened 2002

I don’t plan to apply for more cards anytime soon. I have a $1K balance on the Discover that will be paid off next month before the 0 APR ends; no other card carries a balance.

I want to close Chase and Dell for sure. I have been using the Chase for only Netflix for 2-3 years. I typically use the other store cards 3-4 times per year.

I plan to buy a new car and a condo in 2020 and just wanted to remove the unneeded cards.

Other than student loans, I have no other debt. My loans will be forgiven in about 2 years (I work in public service).

Any reason that I should keep them open?
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Closing low limit cards?

Hi @Anonymous, welcome to the forums.

On the surface, it doesn't appear as though this would even impact your overall utilization, closing them would not be any issue.  Dell is a limited purpose tradeline unless you shop them frequently online, and you already have the SYNCB Amazon store card.  Typically, Chase would require a HP for a CLI so not worth it IMO.   It also appears you have 3 other accounts dating back prior to 2006.

Message 2 of 17
pinkandgrey
Senior Contributor

I absolutely would close any card that you don’t want or use. You have some good ones with nice limits so don’t think twice about it.