Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Confused

Hello folks, newbie here. I,m a little confessed, all the messages I read are about folks trying to raise their cl.

I just went over my credit report and canceled 3 cc for myself and closed 5 or 6 for the wife.

my thoughts are, the less c.c. I have the less likely someone could commit fraud with it.

and for myself, I do not need to have 20 or 30k worth of credit cards. I have 3 open cc atm. Considering just going to one but from what I'm reading I should keep all 3 open.

please no flames just confused.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: Confused

Hi, ezover, welcome to the forums!

It's a pretty common confusion that having lots of available (= unused) credit is bad. In fact, it's good. It tends to help your FICO credit scores, and if you ever do need credit (auto loan, mortgage, emergencies), there's a halo effect: when creditors see that you already have a good amount of credit, they're more likely to extend you credit.

People worry a lot about fraud, but there are great protections built in the CC system. Just keep an eye on the accounts, in case you suddenly find that you've purchase 2 dozen sled dogs or something unexpected. When you see an unauthorized charge, get on the phone with the creditor PDQ. This preserves your rights.

If someone has problems handling temptation, or if they are hopelessly disorganized, then there's an argument for closing accounts. But I'm definitely the second (hopelessly disorganized), and yet I've developed ways to stay on top of things. My days of credit stupidity are behind me, and I don't plan to ever go back.

If you haven't already, please read Understanding Your FICO ® Score and Credit Scoring 101 (at least the first post.)

These will give you the background knowledge you need to understand what you read here on the forums.