cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could a balance transfer trigger adverse action?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Could a balance transfer trigger adverse action?

I've never done a balance transfer before, so please excuse my ignorance.

My Amex BCE's intro period of 0% APR runs out in July. My Discover IT is offering 0% for balance transfers of 12 months duration (with 3% fee). That offer also ends in July. I'd like to BT from Amex (current balance $1500) to Disco, but I'm worried that Amex might lower my credit limit if I do. It's my highest CL at $12,000, and I want to protect it. Is AA a possibility? My payment history (15 months) with Amex is perfect, never late and always paying at least 3X minimum and sometimes 10X. But I'm not able to PIF before the 0% intro runs out.

What would you advise? Thanks for reading.

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Could a balance transfer trigger adverse action?

While ANYTHING is possible, based on your post, I’m betting you’ll be fine. 

Message 2 of 18
Gollum
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

My Amex BCE's intro period of 0% APR runs out in July. My Discover IT is offering 0% for balance transfers of 12 months duration (with 3% fee). That offer also ends in July. I'd like to BT from Amex (current balance $1500) to Disco, but I'm worried that Amex might lower my credit limit if I do. It's my highest CL at $12,000, and I want to protect it. Is AA a possibility? My payment history (15 months) with Amex is perfect, never late and always paying at least 3X minimum and sometimes 10X. But I'm not able to PIF before the 0% intro runs out.

anewleafagain,

I advise concentrating on paying what you owe and trying to not think about credit limits.

Credit Scores: (FICO 8) 846 Experian April 2024, 844 TransUnion March 2024 | (FICO 9) 849 Equifax April 2024