Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Card Game Plan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Card Game Plan

I have been thinking about creating a "game plan" for credit card use, to try and get the most out of each of the cards and categories available. Here's what I've come up with so far. Let me know if you think this may be a plausible plan, or if I should add/change cards etc. Most of my expenses will fall in the groceries, dining, and entertainment categories. With occasion car rentals (and therefore gas...). Really not much in the way of travel, but when I do I normally book through Priceline. I don't spend a lot, as I am a student and do not have too much income.

This part is pretty much set in stone. Smiley Happy

First $250 groceries monthly will go to Sallie Mae. (5%)

First $250 gas monthly will go to Sallie Mae. (5%)

First $750 bookstores/Amazon will go to Sallie Mae. (5%)

I will be applying via phone for the US Bank Cash+ card. If approved, I plan to use it like this (in conjunction with my Sallie Mae):

5% on restaurants & fast food ---- perhaps throwing rental cars into the mix during certain quarters.

2% on groceries (after spending $250 with the Sallie Mae) or drug stores -- could change between quarters I suppose?

If for some reason I am denied and cannot get the US Bank Cash+ my backup options are the following:

Discover it Chrome - 2% dining & 2% gas (after spending $250 with Salie Mae)

Chase Sapphire - 2pts back on dining

Two other options that may be good that I've been looking into are the Capital one QuickSilver (1.5% back)  & Fidelity Amex (2% back on everything).

And, last but not least...I would also like to apply for the PayPal Debit Mastercard. Comes with 1% back on purchases.

So, ideally...I would only be applying for 2 or 3 additional cards - the US Bank Cash+ and the PayPal Debit Mastercard and potentially Fidelity Amex or QS.