Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Unions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Unions

Can someone tell me the advantage of a credit union.  I have notice on several post that everyone should be using one.  Why?  What is the advantage?  Does it report differently than CC's?  Which one is a good one to join in IL? 
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
MidnightVoice
Super Contributor

Re: Credit Unions

CUs don't make profits, so the tend to have better customer service, better rates, and treat people pretty much as individuals and work with them
The slide from grace is really more like gliding
And I've found the trick is not to stop the sliding
But to find a graceful way of staying slid
Message 2 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

so you guys take out loans?  Or are they issueing credit cards?  How do they calcuate into a fico score?  Sorry, I just don't understand....I am pretty new to all this loan business.  Although I have had small credit cards for the past 7 years.
Message 3 of 15
MidnightVoice
Super Contributor

Credit Unions are banks that like their customers.  Mt local (Iowa) CU does checking, savings, IRAs, mortgages, CCs, HELOCs, auto loans etc.  Just like a real bank only better rates a lot of the time, and they treat me as an individual.

The slide from grace is really more like gliding
And I've found the trick is not to stop the sliding
But to find a graceful way of staying slid
Message 4 of 15
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

If you get a CC from a credit union, it reports like any other CC.

A loan reports like any other loan (and their auto loans rates are often great!)

HELOC's report the same, and so on, and so on.

Credit unions are what banks used to be, like George Bailey's bank in "It's a Wonderful Life."