Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Utilization

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Utilization

Hi all,

Happy Holidays everyone!  I'm very new to using credit, in fact I just got my first credit card EVER about a month ago.  I was approved for the CapOne Quicksilver with a $5000 limit.   I never thought I was going to get such a high limit right off the bat like that!  CapOne recently reported to the credit bureaus for the first time and I saw a significant bump in my score (32pts according to CK, I have no idea what my real FICO scores look like just yet).  I'm so excited to finally start building up my credit, after a VERY late start.  I have the members on the forums here to thank for talking me out of my anxiety around credit and give me the confidence boost I needed to finally take the jump and apply!

It just so happens that my mother is in need of a portable oxygen concentrator which would total out to about $5000.  I want to buy this for her, and take advantage of the 0% intro APR I have with CapOne.  My original plan was to put the whole balance on my card and pay it off immediately with the money I was going to get from cashing out my vacation pay at my previous job (I resigned on Dec. 24th after accepting a position at a new firm, starting in Jan.) + the money I have already set aside for the purchase.  Unfortunately at my exit interview I was informed that I would not be receiving the check for my vacation payout (a little over 3K) until mid-March!  I know that it is ideal to keep credit utilization below 30%; I've kept it under 3% so far, making regular purchases and paying them off weekly.  Unfortunately I only have at most $2.5K squirreled away right now to put toward this purchase, which would leave my utilization at 50%, at least for a time.  I'll be in a position to make decent payments on the purchase for the first few months of the year, until I finally get the lump sum in March which I would use to pay off the balance.