Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit card application

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit card application

Hi, I am VERY new to credit cards and this is my first post on here.  I am sure this is a dumb question but I wanted to know something.  My brother and I have a joint bank account and pay all of our bills out of that.  I applied for a card and got denied because they sad I don't make enough to pay my bills.  When you add my brothers income then we have plenty of income.  We are joint on the house and both cars.  Can I call and explain that to them or will it even matter?  Thanks in advance for any help.  

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit card application

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi, I am VERY new to credit cards and this is my first post on here.  I am sure this is a dumb question but I wanted to know something.  My brother and I have a joint bank account and pay all of our bills out of that.  I applied for a card and got denied because they sad I don't make enough to pay my bills.  When you add my brothers income then we have plenty of income.  We are joint on the house and both cars.  Can I call and explain that to them or will it even matter?  Thanks in advance for any help.  

Welcome to MyFICO

Its not a dumb question.  What credit card did you apply for?  Some companies will allow you to call and ask them to reconsider their decisions, others however will not.  Generally they will consider any income that you routinely have access to so it might help but siblings sharing income is a bit out of the norm so it may be difficult to overcome the denial depending on the creditor.  The more information that you can supply regarding your personal credit file and income, if you feel comfortable sharing that, will help us give you suggestions on the card that you applied for or maybe direct you to others.

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable