cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit cards, consolidation, scoring--looking for help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit cards, consolidation, scoring--looking for help!

This is my first time posting, and I'm looking for some guidance. Specifically, I'm wondering if consolidating all or some of my credit card debts with a personal loan or LOC (such as Bank of America's "Clean Sweep") is likely to improve my credit score. I have about $30k in CC debt (racked up in law school) that I'm working to pay down ASAP. I've been shifting balances around for a few years (yes, I know that's not generally a good idea) to keep interest rates low. Here's the breakdown:

BOA $15,000 (1.9% until May)
Discover $7000 (0.9% fixed)
Chase $1500 (8.9%)
Amex $6000 (0% into until Jan '09)

Here are my current credit scores:
Experian - 688
Trans Union - 706
Equifax - 716

What do you think? Another option would be to have my wife apply for a new CC in her name only and transfer some of my balances. The reason for all of this is that we'd like to buy a house in about 6 months. I'll be the only applicant on the mortgage, since she's a homemaker and has no income. We have studen loans and an auto loan--never had a late payment or any other negative info on any account.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated--Thanks!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit cards, consolidation, scoring--looking for help!

The APR on any unsecured loan is going to be higher than your current rates-

I say tighten the belt and put as much to it as you can - esp the 15K that expires in May.

Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yeah, that's true. Thanks. The other consideration is that we're trying to get as much cash together as possible for down payment, closing costs, etc. In some ways its a balancing act between paying down debt and maximizing savings so we can close on a house.
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable