Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Declined Cap1

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Declined Cap1

FICO EQ is 757 with 3 inqs

I applied for the Student Rewards Credit Card last week, called today to see my status, and they told me i was declined. Is there any good number to call for recon? I still couldn't believe they would decline me with my socre....

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
smc733
Valued Contributor

Re: Declined Cap1

Income?  Income is very important post-CARD act, which requires them to calculate your ability to pay without a cosigner.

BofA Cash Rewards VS - $25k | Citi Double Cash World MC - $18.9k | Amex BCE - $50k | Discover it - $50k | Chase Freedom Unlimited VS- $10k | Barclay Ring $5k |
Message 2 of 13
BungalowMo
Senior Contributor

I agree...verifiable income could be it.

BK 7 discharge 06.24.2020 No Fico score at all. Smiley Sad
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am a graduate student and have no income, I do get some support from my parents on a monthly basis but I don't think that counts towards my income, I am not even sure...it is a student card so i thought income is not a big factor. Please correct me if im wrong. 

Message 4 of 13
smc733
Valued Contributor

That is most certainly why.  Ever since the Credit CARD act of 2009 passed (and went into effect in February), people under 21 must have sufficient income or a cosigner.  This rule, however, has often voluntarily been extended by many lenders to most/all new applicants as a way to reduce signing new applicants that will cause delinquent accounts.  I'd say irregardless of credit score, it will be very difficult for you to obtain credit without getting a job or a cosigner.

BofA Cash Rewards VS - $25k | Citi Double Cash World MC - $18.9k | Amex BCE - $50k | Discover it - $50k | Chase Freedom Unlimited VS- $10k | Barclay Ring $5k |
Message 5 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

thanks for your response...