cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Denied for Target Redcard, stated insufficient recent credit history?

tag
kchui1028
Contributor

Denied for Target Redcard, stated insufficient recent credit history?

I applied for the Target Redcard at the target store 2 weeks ago, and they are not able to approve me instantly.

So i got home and called target and was told i was denied.

Today i got the letter from Target and it told me the main reason for the decision

Inactive or insufficient recent credit history.

The thing is i have just repaired most of my credit, i have FICO score of about 620.

I only have one secured credit card i've been using for 5 months and using under 10%, been paying it on time every month.

I also have a deferred student installment loan 5 years ago, it's paid off all at once a few months after i applied for it.

How long will it take until i am considered to have sufficient credit history? Can it be done with just 1 credit card since i have a hard time getting an unsecured one yet?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
DI
Super Contributor

Re: Denied for Target Redcard, stated insufficient recent credit history?

Sorry to hear that you got declined.

You'd need a mixture of credit(installment loans and revolving credit) to be considered having sufficient credit.

Message 2 of 8
kchui1028
Contributor

Thanks, I do have an installment loan on my report even though it's 5 years ago.

I doubt Target RedCard only approves people that have current installment loan = sufficient credit though

I do want to know how long it take to be considered sufficient credit history if you only have 1 revolving credit card.

Message 3 of 8
DI
Super Contributor

@kchui1028 wrote:

Thanks, I do have an installment loan on my report even though it's 5 years ago.

I doubt Target RedCard only approves people that have current installment loan = sufficient credit though