Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover Card

tag
supersam101
Contributor

Discover Card

Does anyone know how much credit history you need for a discover more card. Right now i have 8 months of credit history with a bank of america secured credit card $600 dollars limit (opened 10/11). I am a college student with about 5k income.

Discover IT Student $3k. Bankameri better balance $3k.
Chase freedom 2.5k
Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Crashem
Valued Contributor

Re: Discover Card

App for Discover for Student.  Made for the limited credit history college student.  Also, remember to include any scholarships etc in income.

LIMITS IN CARD DESCRIPTIONS
Message 2 of 19
cmthomas06
Regular Contributor

i got denied by discover so many timed that they actually blocked me for a year! I would suggest applying for a Cap1 card. They are horrible with credit limits and CLI, but at least it will give you a more diverse credit file.  I carried 2 Cap1 cards for about a year before I applied for another card (Chase Freedom) and got instantly approved. Once I got more cards I just closed 1 of the Cap 1 accounts. I found that by having several cards, rather than 1, I was able to get approved for other cards easily. 

on a side note, my friend just applied for the Cap1 student rewards card and got approved for a 1k limit. He had HORRIBLE credit history an income slightly higher than yours. Might be worth checking out - heres the link:  

http://www.capitalone.com/creditcards/journey-student-rewards-credit-card/a/?linkid=WWW_1010_CARD_TG...

Ex 752 (Amex) Tu 758 (Walmart) Eq 703
Goal: 750+ on all
Current Cards: Cap1 Cash Back; Chase Freedom; Chase Amazon; Citi Thank You; Citi Forward; Discover iT; Amex Zync; GE WalMart; BoA 3-2-1
Message 3 of 19
Crashem
Valued Contributor