Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover IT balance txfer

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Discover IT balance txfer

I'm new to Discover and this is my first balance txfer. My cl was 6500 and I transferred 5000 at 0% interest for 18 mos. If I don't use the card for purchases and just work to pay off this balance for a year does that count as inactivity. I don't want them to think I'm a risk with my utilization that high but I also don't want to not use the card either. I'm not familiar with Discover so not sure how exactly to balance getting down my balance and using the card to eventually grow with them and hopefully get cli in the future. Any insight or advice on how to manage my newly acquired Discover would be appreciated.
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover IT balance txfer

With a BT that high, don’t put any new purchases on it, just pay it down. It’s going to decimate your credit score until you pay it down under 48.9% ($3179 balance).

A BT and payments on a BT counts as activity on a card.
Message 2 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks so much that's good to know that payments are considered activity. I know my credit score is going to take a hit but won't it balance itself out if now my QS is at 0 balance?
Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

The score impact depends on your aggregate utilization percentage as well obviously but a single card beyond 28.9%, 48.9, and 68.9% are scoring thresholds as well.

Just work on paying it off and don’t worry about it. I was just trying to emphasize the importance of not putting more charges on there.

Also keep in mind that Discover’s BT card doesn’t have a purchase intro APR, just a BT one, so you would actually be hit with interest for those.
Message 4 of 17
pinkandgrey
Senior Contributor