cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discover More, and hello

tag
dirtyfinancial

Discover More, and hello

Hello myFICO!  I just registered because I have been reading here quite a bit over the last few weeks, and was just approved for my first credit card.

I am a graduate student making a glorious $20k a year.  I'm in my late twenties and hope to someday, sooner rather than later, have a down payment and qualify for a home loan that does not suck.  I have $11K of student loans from college that I've been paying back for about 6 years, though all but 1 are in deferment.  I have a 30 day on that one from 2007 which I plan to try to get removed.

I began my adventures in credit cards, clumsily, a few weeks ago.  I applied for a BCP.  I had no idea about anything.  I didn't know what FICO stood for and certainly had never been to this forum.  The Blue Cash Preferred just seemed like a good fit for me and I ran the numbers and I'd come out ahead, even with the anual fee, over the BCE--all the while incentivising the purchase of groceries over retaurant food.  I had it all figured out; I was a naive little man.

So now, few weeks but many read myFICO posts later, I realize that creditors certainly take their money seriously, and despite the fact that I am trusted with the secrets of the universe and the ability to do mathematics the econ "gurus" at AmEx can only dream of--I should probably improve my credit (+cashflow?) before applying for such fancy cards.

And here I am, proud owner of  a Discover More student with a $1500 CL.  I also applied for a Citi Forward card (actually about a week earlier) but apparently they haven't even pulled my credit yet.  Next up is the Zync (we need to establish a relationship, AmEx, I don't feel like your really understand me) and then I'm off to the garden.

The guy at Citi (I applied in a bank) said after I told him my FAKOs that I "actually had a pretty good score for someone with effectively no credit."