Did you mean: 

Discover is officially my lowest limit on major cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Discover is officially my lowest limit on major cards

@Anonymous wrote:

@Creditplz wrote:
Congrats! I'm with you on Discover being my lowest limit card... it's useless to me with a 1k limit Smiley Sad! Hope yours grows!

I'm still pretty new to credit cards, so I'm used to dealing with low limits, but how is a 1K limit "useless"? I get that higher would be better, but it certainly seems plenty usable. I've only got a $1200 limit in my Citi card (my 2nd highest limit), but I've already put $2300 on it this cycle with 10 days remaining (and it's currently showing a $0 balance).

@I kind of share @Anonymous opinion on the useless part. Well not really useless, See I try my best to follow the credit rule on not going over the 30% utilization on every card. Which means out of the 1K my rule would only let me use $300 to be below my 30% utilization.

Also APR is not an issue for me as I really try to PIF every month.

Message 11 of 24
Dalmus
Valued Contributor

@Ysettle4 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

@Creditplz wrote:
Congrats! I'm with you on Discover being my lowest limit card... it's useless to me with a 1k limit Smiley Sad! Hope yours grows!

I'm still pretty new to credit cards, so I'm used to dealing with low limits, but how is a 1K limit "useless"? I get that higher would be better, but it certainly seems plenty usable. I've only got a $1200 limit in my Citi card (my 2nd highest limit), but I've already put $2300 on it this cycle with 10 days remaining (and it's currently showing a $0 balance).

Prevents the ability to make a big purchase or finance a large repair invoice. But again, $1K can be plenty for others. It would depend on your lifestyle or your wants/needs.