Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Amex Gold make sense for me?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Does Amex Gold make sense for me?

I’m a 23 year old grad student who is thinking of getting a new card and this one interests me. I currently fly domestically around 1-3 times a year, and internationally maybe once every 2 years or so. I also take weekend trips domestically on occasion, by car. I spend around 4-600/month on dining and groceries combined.

I currently have the 50k for 1k spend offer, and it’s tempting me to apply for the card. Does the card make sense for someone who doesn’t frequently travel internationally? From what I’ve been told, international travel is where MR points really shine.
Message 1 of 35
34 REPLIES 34
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Does Amex Gold make sense for me?

I understand the temptation, but based on what you described, you may be stuck paying $250/year and not use the points at a good value (international air travel). AMEX points are not very valueable for Cashback credit. 

If I were you, I would get a Cashback CC with no annual fee. 

Message 2 of 35
K-in-Boston
Credit Mentor

@Anonymous wrote:
I’m a 23 year old grad student who is thinking of getting a new card and this one interests me. I currently fly domestically around 1-3 times a year, and internationally maybe once every 2 years or so. I also take weekend trips domestically on occasion, by car. I spend around 4-600/month on dining and groceries combined.

I currently have the 50k for 1k spend offer, and it’s tempting me to apply for the card. Does the card make sense for someone who doesn’t frequently travel internationally? From what I’ve been told, international travel is where MR points really shine.