cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Income matter- Chase Sapphire Prefered?

tag
mmduluth
Frequent Contributor

Re: Does Income matter- Chase Sapphire Prefered?

@Anonymous wrote:

My income is 25k and I am a student, look at my signature for my CCs. Do you still think your income is low for 5k limit?!

+1

Sutdent, 24k income, 3 years and some change AAoA, 21 years old, highest limit was a 3k Freedom card and I was approved. 

Oh and I had only been at my job for 3 months.

EQ FICO - 718 - 01/10/2012 EX FICO - 732 - 04/28/2012 (AMEX)

Cap1 Platinum (1000) Macy’s (2000) Chase Freedom (3000) Kohls (600) Best Buy (2700) Amex BCE (8200) Chase Sapphire (5000) CarCare1 (1600) Discover IT (4000)
Message 21 of 26
CreditScholar
Valued Contributor

@frugalQ wrote:
I was just reading about the CSP card today on about.com, and it said there was an income limit of $120K to qualify for the card.

I was shocked as I did not realize the Sapphire cards had such a high income limit. Maybe that card review is outdated?

http://credit.about.com/od/travelrewardscards/fr/Chase-Sapphire-Preferred-Card-Review.htm
This was their original target customer profile, that is someone making 120k a year. Obviously approval standards for the CSP aren't always that strict, but when the card was originally designed and introduced their ideal cardholder would make about 120k. Not everyone fits into the ideal.
EX 798, EQ 789, TU 784
American Express Platinum (NPSL) || Bank of America Privileges with Travel Rewards Visa Signature - $23,200 CL
Barclays American Airlines Aviator Red World Elite Mastercard - $20,000 CL || Chase IHG Rewards World Mastercard - $25,000 CL
Chase Sapphire Preferred Visa Signature - $12,700 CL || Chase United MileagePlus Club World Elite MasterCard - $26,500 CL
Citibank Hilton Reserve Visa Signature - $20,000 CL || J.P. Morgan Ritz Carlton Visa Signature - $23,500 CL
Message 22 of 26
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

@Cdnewmanpac wrote: