Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Excellent Score, Possibly Low Income

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Excellent Score, Possibly Low Income

I've been hoping to get a rewards card for many years to basically use as a debit card, paying it off immediately after my purchases. I have credit scores in the “excellent” range. However, I have a mortgage with my fiancé. He pays it, I work part time and I also have a monthly distribution from investments that covers around half of our mortgage. I make enough to pay my own bills, but when you take the mortgage into consideration on a credit card application, it looks as if I'm in the negative. I do have a second job, but I don't make enough to claim that income on taxes. I'm wondering if I should bother trying to apply for a rewards card. I've asked around and some have said, "No, don't hurt your credit." Others have said, "With scores like that, they won't turn you down!" So, I'd be grateful for other opinions. Thanks!
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Excellent Score, Possibly Low Income

It all depends on what you'd put down under "income" on you CC app.  Have you figured out what that is?  What you pay for a mortgage isn't at the point of the credit application a consideration; it looks at income, not expenses.  So long as you have at least some income (which you do if you're paying bills) and solid credit scores, I'd think you'd be approved.  Under what terms/limit could be less than stellar, but I'd still be fairly confident in an approval.

Message 2 of 12
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

The CARD Act includes provisions that permit a consumer to include the income of a spouse or partner in their application for a credit card under certain conditions.  You may be able to include, in addition to your investment and own personal income, the income of your partner if you meet certain conditions specified under the CRAD Act and subsequent regulations.