Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting two new cards within a week?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Getting two new cards within a week?

I've always been the person to trash all my unopened credit card mail offers thinking it was pointless to have more than one. Last week I checked my credit score at creditkarma and saw I had 748, which surprised me. I'm a college student with a 4 year BofA checking and credit account, using the default Platinum Plus Visa they gave me.

Well this week I finally decided to open some of these CC mail offers and started doing some research. I just got accepted for a pre-approved AMEX Blue Cash Everyday and am now interested in opening a pre-approved Chase Sapphire card as well. The Sapphire is offering a 50k Bonus Points signup after I spend $500/3x month, even though this card is mainly geared for travelers I thought this was a steal for an easy $500 cash back!

I plan on making the AMEX and Chase my main after I empty the balance on my Plat+ and down the road I'll try to get a Discover More card. How badly will opening 2 new CCs within a week hurt my score?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
DI
Super Contributor

Re: Getting two new cards within a week?

@Anonymous wrote: