Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hardest citi card to get ? I’m new to the Citi

tag
MeN5
Regular Contributor

Hardest citi card to get ? I’m new to the Citi

Hello I was wondering what the hardest citi card to get ? And if what the typical starting limit is? Also the soonest anyone has gotten an increase? When does the fico score show in the app?

13 REPLIES 13
Hoben02
Frequent Contributor

Re: Hardest citi card to get ? I’m new to the Citi

I don't think any of the citi cards are any harder to get then the other major players. 

Chase (CSP,CF,CFU,southwest premier)
Barclay(jetblue, arrival)
Bofa(US pride, premium, travel, cash, Suzy komen)
Citi(Premier, Double cash, Costco)
Fnbo(Mlife)
Amex(everyday, cash, Hilton)
Blockfi
Caesars rewards
Sofi
Gemini
Cap One Savor One
Message 2 of 14
Credit12Fico
Established Contributor

The hardest Citi card to get right now is the Premier. As a rough guideline, you need less than 1-2 inquiries in the last 6 months and you need to have some utilization reporting across maybe 2 or 3 cards or so*. These are ROUGH guidelines, not scriptures from the Citi crypts. 

Double Cash and Custom cash are much easier to get approved for. 

*Before anyone marches in here (because there's always one Smiley Happy) saying they got a Premier with 10 inquiries in the last 3 days and negative 3% utilization, you were an exception, not the norm.

Citi has a prequalification site so you can check to see if they might lend to you. Again, you might still get approved even if you don't see anything on the prequal website, but worth looking there to see how they view you. 

Message 3 of 14
calisig
Regular Contributor

I think the Costco Visa is the hardest Citi card to get. And I agree with @Credit12Fico  that the Custom Cash and Double Cash are easier to get.