Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help a newbie out on playing the Game... suggestions on a new card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Help a newbie out on playing the Game... suggestions on a new card

I'm new to the points game and want to start earning points for travel and vacations. What are the cards to maximized my spend to earn the most points?  Im currently using the Chase Perfered for travel and dinning.... need cards for grocery and gas.  My current fico score is around 720 with an average spend limit of $14K.

Currrent cards -

Discover it card - 15 year relationship so keeping that, no fee

Capital one Platinum - 17 year relationship, was my first card, no fee

Amex everyday - 2 year card, no fee

Chase perffered - 1 month old.  Working on the minium spend so I  can get the bonus points, $95 fee

Furture card I want to get - 

1 months from now - Penfed pathfinder - to get bonuses such as Global entry and $100 incidentals (traveling on vacation in 3 months) and bous points. 

5 months from now - Chase freedom - to get UR points.  Need to wait to get my min spends on perffered and penfed card out of the way. 

2 years from now - Chase reserve -  plan is to use the perffered for 2 years... cancel and then get the reserve to get another 50k bonus. 

Other wants. 

A good hotel card to get free hotel nights - maybe IHG or Hyatt card

And No fee cards with travel benefits. 

How is my plan??? any suggestions???

Thanks in advance

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Help a newbie out on playing the Game... suggestions on a new card

For groceries I would for sure get the AMEX BCP for 6%.  Gas, you can also use the BCP.

The PenFed Platinum Rewards for 5x/$1 spent. No cash back on this, except, you can use points to redeem for travel.  I would take the BCP over teh PenFed.

Your plans sounds good but remember Chase has a 5/24 rule.