cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hey guys, I'm kind of new and I need some advice.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey guys, I'm kind of new and I need some advice.

So this is my first post and I was wondering if you guys can help me out here. So anyways I got my first credit card this year in April. It's been a little over 4 months since I got my card. I'm a student as well. I'm curious as to what cards I would be able to qualify for. I have not got my Fico scores yet since, I heard they become available to you after 6 months of having credit, I do not know if this is true or not. I work as a Cashier/host. Last year I made about 4,200 but after tax it was about 3,700. I'm not totally sure about how much I will make this year but I am guessing it will be around the same, would I qualify for another card? I'm fine with any issuer as long as it's not BOFA (already have one), and I really do not want a student card. But I need help in deciding if I should apply based on what I have posted, should I wait? what type of card should I look for, should I wait until next april? if there is anything that you need me to clarify I will do my best to do so. 

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
jamesdwi
Valued Contributor

Re: Hey guys, I'm kind of new and I need some advice.

With such a low income and no score, it may be best to use the card, pay the bill, don't be late. After you have a score you can try for a Student Credit card.  Many companies will deny simply because of income, especially now that the new credit card act became law if you are under 21 they have to have proof that you have income to  repay your debt.

When you graduate and/or start making more money you can work on getting more cards. With an existing card with a good history you will be about 10 steps beyond a lot of people graduating college.