Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hilton Amex Surpass vs. Hilton Citi Hilton Reserve

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hilton Amex Surpass vs. Hilton Citi Hilton Reserve

I spend about 500 bucks a week at Hilton properties and figure that I probably should take advantage of one of these cards. The Amex seems to be the better deal to me but many of the online reviews mostly lean towards the Citi. Looking for opinions from people that may have either of these cards.

The only big benefit to the citi for me would be the no FTF's that I can see anyways. I already have a card that has no FTF so this is not a deal breaker.

I will probably wait until these guys have another 100K promotion before I apply.

I already have an Amex BCP and I like there service. I have no experience with Citi.

Thanks in advance, Doug
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Hilton Amex Surpass vs. Hilton Citi Hilton Reserve

If say do a side by side based on your needs. Most of us on here can say OURS is the better of the 2, but its up to you. With as much as you stay there i would look at what the hotel benifits between the 2 our.
The surpass gives you better benifits and 12 points compared to 10 that citi does. Also Surpass gives you Dimond status when you spend 40k.
I am lookimg from the outside since i have marriott platinum status so others might give better answers.
The only bennie i see to the citi one is they use visa and more places accept them. But the amex one gives you 3 points for gas and 12 for hotels. So as i said if it was me id go with the $95 surpass.
Message 2 of 12
MASTERNC
Frequent Contributor

The Reserve card also gives you a free weekend night at most Hilton properties after spending $10k before your card anniversary.  For me, that is worth the $20 difference in AF.

Message 3 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry, but there are much better ways to get free nights at Hilton than spending $10,000 on top of paying $20 extra AF.