How many 'inquires' is excessive?

tag
LilNYC
New Contributor

Re: How many 'inquires' is excessive?

@webhopper wrote:

@OlegWasHere wrote:
This would be my first Amex.
That's good news. After i start Amex I won't applying for anything in the forseeable future.
So if auto is lumped into one. I'll have 13 total. And two more fall off by year end

With amex charge cards they are not as inquiry sensitive. I have no knowledge in regards to their revolvers

I think Amex is inquiry sensitive w/ their revolvers- "too many recent credit checks" was the first readon listed on my denial letter fir the BCP & I only had 3. ( I did manage to get them approve thru manual review though.)

Citi Thank You $13,200 - Chase Freedom $3,100 - AMEX Zync NPSL (init. ability $17.5K) - Citi Forward $7,000 - AMEX BCP $6,000 - USAA Rate Adv $15,000 - USAA World MC $12,000 - Discover More $4,000 - Amex Hilton Honors $4,500 - Amex SPG $2,000 - Barclay's Priceline Rewards $6,400 - Chase Sapphire Pref. $7,500

EQ: 794. TU: 704. EX: 755
Message 21 of 25
navigatethis12
Valued Contributor

As others have said it does change from bank to bank. Some will be more concerned about new accounts though. I really have had no trouble with inquiries when talking to analysts. I just tell them the truth, I am trying to establish some more credit. I have never been turned down after that. All cards show zero balance so they can see that I am not in need of the credit.

Chase did not really seem phased by the inquiries; they did ask about them but I was approved and received increases so they are not too concerned about them.

Today Disover saw four from Chase in the past month, which were all business related. She accepted that as an answer and said good job with handling the cards well and I got an increase.

I got the Macys American Express card at the end of a January-February application spree. By then there should have been at least ten inquiries on Experian, I was approved with no delay.