cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much CC balance should I pay off each month?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How much CC balance should I pay off each month?

Sorry if this is one of those questions that's been asked a lot, but as you can see, I'm a noob - sorry.

I've recently arrived in the U.S. and successfully applied for a Capital One CC. It's only a little iddy-biddy limit ($300) but you've got to start somewhere, and if I follow there "3 steps" procedure, they'll increase that to $750 after 3 months. OK, fine.

My question is this: I know it's a given to pay at least the minimum on time, every time, but how much should I pay off each month? I've been clearing the outstanding balance in full for the first two months, but somebody on another (non credit related) forum reckons that I'm better off leaving a small balance on the card each month rather than paying it off in full. That makes no sense to me. Is he talking crap?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
SYale2010
Valued Member

Re: How much CC balance should I pay off each month?

Welcome to the forums! You will learn lots as you just read about other people's cases.

What the other person said is false, but in its essence is not entirely false. He was trying to allude to the fact that the best way to optimize your credit score is to have at least one of your cards "REPORT a balance" to EQ,TU,EX. This shows that you are in responsible use of your credit, and that you manage it wisely. This is where people tend to get confused and kind of ask the question of "So I need to pay interest rates to get a good credit score?"

The answer to this is no. Each financial institution has different dates for when they report your balances to the agencies, and when the statement cuts and the formulate interest charges. It will vary, so if interested, you must call the institution (in your case, Capital One). They should give you information on when and how often they report your balances.