Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to pay a credit card?

tag
BrokeBandit
Established Member

How to pay a credit card?

I am startig to rebuld my credit.  I have one card with a $300 credit limit.  I know to only use up to 9% of that, or $27.  My question is when paying the statement, should I pay the total balance due?  Or should I leave some of the balance there (as long as it is under 9%) so that my credit report looks as though I use the card each month (instead of it always reporting a $0).

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How to pay a credit card?

from what i can tell, and im no expert, but you can spend more than 9% or 27 bucks, but as long as you pay it down before the statement date to less than 10%, itll look good on your credit report. 

and after that, its best to pay in full every month. those are pretty much the steps everyone recommends to increase your credit score.

Message 2 of 12
Switch2007
Contributor

Hello! And welcome! 

I believe that they will report your high balance, so there's no need to really show a balance. With most cards, PIF every month will help your chances of getting a CLI.. that is unless it's Cap 1 or Orchard! I dont think it will hurt you much either way though. 

Starting Score: 08/01/2009 584
Current Score: 08/01/2011 EQ 684 EX (Lender Pull) 702 TU 712
Goal Score: 780+

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 3 of 12
john398
Senior Contributor

@Switch2007 wrote:

Hello! And welcome! 

I believe that they will report your high balance, so there's no need to really show a balance. With most cards, PIF every month will help your chances of getting a CLI.. that is unless it's Cap 1 or Orchard! I dont think it will hurt you much either way though.