Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm addicted to opening accounts.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm addicted to opening accounts.

5 months ago I had 2 first premiere cards with a 600.00 total limit. Now I have a 5000 chase freedom, 3000 home depot, 2500 lowes, 2000 barclay apple, 1500 chase slate, 1500 barclay, 1000 merrick, 1000 fingerhut, 500 best buy master card, 850 j crew, 500 express, 500 brylane, 500 victoria secret, 600 Macy's, 500 amazon, 300 capital one and a couple other shopping cart trick cards. Should I start shutting down cards? First premier and some shopping cart cards? I need to stop! Utilization like 5%. I don't abuse them at all. Scores were in 400's now mid 600s.
Message 1 of 30
29 REPLIES 29
shoo
Frequent Contributor

Re: I'm addicted to opening accounts.

I'm no expert, but based on what I know and my experience, here are my thoughts:

Closing accounts will probably mess up your AAoA depending on how long you've had the cards. I'd say if they are pretty new, like a month or two old, get rid of the ones you will literally never use. Secondly, maybe you should take a break from opening new accounts lol...that's kind of a bajillion cards! On the other hand, if you actually use all those cards and take care of em right, don't close them. Take advantage of the nice utilization ratio you've got going and let them age.

Also realize that each time you open a new account and add an inquiry, it's making you look more desperate to lenders for credit. And each new account at age 0 shortens your AAoA. This affects your score, so I'd definitely take a break from the apps!

$4200$1000$2650$53,000$6500$2500$12,500$7000$7000$34,700$12,100$10,000
EX - 790 | TU - 782 | EQ - ?
--- In the garden since April 2019 ---
Message 2 of 30
JamesB95
Regular Contributor

You do need to stop.. Literally. Smiley Wink