cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I've Opened too many credit cards recently, but I don't have any balances on them, what do do.

tag
cjpar007

I've Opened too many credit cards recently, but I don't have any balances on them, what do do.

Hey everyone, So I am relatively new to credit, and things started off on a great foot. My scores on Equifax TransU, and Experian were all over 755. However around that time, I went on a credit card frenzy, and opened 5 accounts within 2 (1/2) months. As a result, despite me not carrying balances, or being deliquent. My credit suffered severely. Looking back, the one time sign up perks may not have been worth it. My question is what should I do going forward. Do I close the recently opened ones (roughly a year old now) or do I just deal with it now, and never apply for a credit card in the future. Like I said, I have no balances just figuring out how to go forward. Any advice will be appreciative.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: I've Opened too many credit cards recently, but I don't have any balances on them, what do do.

Welcome to the forum. Your AAOA has already taken a hit. It wil take time but your scores will recover. Though a yr is a bit long. Are you letting one card report a balance?
Message 2 of 11
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: I've Opened too many credit cards recently, but I don't have any balances on them, what do do.

Welcome to the forum 

don't close any cards proceed to the garden and meet new friends who will help you get on the right track:smileywink

Tell them your story and see how fast they respondSmiley Wink

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 3 of 11
cjpar007

Yes I am at the moment.

Message 4 of 11
djc1puno
Valued Contributor