Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Improving UTL to boost FICO

tag
laboi_22
Established Contributor

Improving UTL to boost FICO

So I just pulled my free Wal Mart FICO and my score is 706. It tells me that what's keeping my score from improving is that my UTL is too high. I have a UTL of 17% last time I pulled an EQ report. My question is this: how do I get my current cc's to increase the limits on my cards? I never carry a balance. I always PIF however when statements cut it might show a higher balance then it's PIF shortly after. Is the answer higher credit limits? I use my BofA card a good bit and I get paid back from my company for using my card for business expenses (I work in sales for a large corp) and so that money might not arrive before the statement cuts so it's hard to pay down before the cut date. I always PIF though before the due date on each statement. Should I be using my AMEX business card which does not report on my personal credit for these expenses and leave all of these cards alone until they get higher limits? I'm in gardening mode now for the next 6 months so I don't want to add any new accounts. Below is a list of my current accounts with CL:

BofA CL 1000 increased to 5000 recently (4 months old)

Capital One 500 never use never carry a balance 7 months old

Orchard bank about to close 300 CL never use no balance 9 months old

Chase Freedom CL 1000 PIF each month 276 balanace due Oct 7 3 months old

Amex Green - business card for my own small business

Gap 650 CL

JCP 300 CL

Walmart 700 CL

thanks

Current Scores: EX - 728 FICO (5/11/13) TU - 771 FICO (7/02/13) EQ ??

Current Cards: Chase Freedom $5,000, CSP $5,700, BofA Visa Signature $15,000, AMEX BCE $6,000, Walmart $4,150, Gap Visa $10,000, JC Penny $5,800, Lowes $8,500, Dillard's AMEX $8,000, AMEX Hilton HHonors - $2,000, Chase United $12,000, Citi AAdvantage & Simplicity $6,000/$6,000, SPG AMEX $1,000
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
haulingthescoreup