cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just got Sapphire Preferred; should I close BofA Rewards?

tag
nycyclone9

Just got Sapphire Preferred; should I close BofA Rewards?

I'm new here so I apologize in advance for my ignorance.

I have a few related questions, but first some quick background information:

I'm 28 and single, my income will be about $65,000 in 2014, but will rise dramatically to about $175,000 in 2015, and then will increase by approximately $10-15K each year after that for at least two or three years (I'm a lawyer and we get paid on a rigidly defined scale so I can project these figures in advance with confidence). I have about $60K in student loan debt. My credit scores right now are: Equifax: 750, Experian: 757, Transunion: 743. No negative events. I currently have a Bank of America Rewards Platinum Plus Visa card with a $7,500 limit and no annual fee, and I was just approved for a Chase Sapphire Preferred card (no annual fee in Year 1; $95 annual fee thereafter) with a $13,000 "credit access line."

Question 1: is my Bank of America card a good one? Does anyone have experience with this card? Note that it's not a "Cash Rewards" or "Travel Rewards" card, just a "Rewards" card.

Question 2: my initial inclination was to close the account associated with the Bank of America card once I get the Sapphire Preferred card, but having done a little more research, it seems that might not be the right move. The BofA card has no annual fee and it is by far my longest-existing line of credit (it's been my only credit card for nearly five years). From my research, it seems that canceling my longest-existing line of credit would be a bad move for my credit score. So should I close the account or not? And if not, am I permitted to use the card once a year just to keep it active but to use my Sapphire Preferred card 99 percent of the time? Is that for some reason a bad idea or not allowed?