Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Last 5/24 slot and other questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Last 5/24 slot and other questions

Hello everyone.

One of the primary reasons I am interested in credit cards are due to the lucrative sign-up bonuses (along with all the other perks, of course). I've been trying to figure out a good strategy for getting some more sign-up bonuses, and I could use some advice. First some background, I am a grad student working part time and making around 30k yearly. I got my first credit card 18 months ago (had no credit history before then), and AAoA is at 9 months currently. My total credit limits are at 31k, and utilisation is around 2%. TU score is 746, and EX is 740.

As I have 4 other cards in the last 2 years, and considering I already have the Freedom (opened Aug 16, 500 limit) and CSP (opened Apr 17, 6k limit), I was planning to apply for the FU next before 5/24 comes into play. When would be a good time to apply for that one so that I have good chances of approval and can get a decent credit limit (say 4-5k)? I don't need more credit overall, but wouldn't mind getting a decent limit with Chase so that I can transfer some over to the Freedom, which I do use a lot.

Once that is done, what are some other cards I could look into? I would probably apply to around 2-3 cards in a year, won't really go overboard. I would prefer not to go for too many AF cards, as I don't use hotels or fly out too often and would definitely not keep them beyond a year. However, if it is an good deal for the first year, I'll consider it. The CSP is good enough for my current purposes anyway.

Also, considering that my available credit limit is already at 100% of my income, could that result in denials for applications? My BCE is at 15k and Disco at 10k. Would I have to get them reduced?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
MrDisco99
Valued Contributor

Re: Last 5/24 slot and other questions