cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to get approved for my first Chase card, how is my strategy?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Looking to get approved for my first Chase card, how is my strategy?

Hello,

As the title says I am looking to get approved for my first Chase card, right now I am planning on going for the Freedom. These are my accounts so far:

Discover IT Secured- 7th statement cuts on October 10th, expecting to be graduated to unsecured. SL $200, CLI offered up to $2400 at month 5, but only increased it to $350.

Target Red Card- 3 months old, SL $1000

Amex BCE- SL $2,000- 1 month old.

FICO 8 scores hovering around 750 currently

I'm a college student and my income is only 12,000. I opened a checking account with Chase last month and I now do all my banking with them, being sure to demonstrate good saving practices. My plan right now is to apply for the card in February, to let my new AMEX age, and to let my relationship with Chase grow as I bank with them. I've heard that I can typically expect an automatic CLI from Amex after month 3, which will help with utilization. I also never carry a balance, and keep my utilization for all cards below 10%. Is this a reasonable strategy to get the freedom? I'm open to critiques! Thank you Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Remedios
Credit Mentor

Re: Looking to get approved for my first Chase card, how is my strategy?

Hi and welcome

So, your oldest card is 7 months old?
If that's the case, you'll want to wait till it's at least a year old.
You can ask Amex for CLI after 61 days upon approval and every 6 months after that.

I would not apply for Chase card at this time. If you're approved, and that's a big if, it will be toy limit/high apr combo.
You have three new accounts in 7 months. Let them age, and in about 6 months you'll be in a lot better position to apply.
Message 2 of 13
Girlzilla88
Valued Contributor