Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving to Europe for 3 years, plan for apps and long term

tag
mrpuffrabbit
Valued Member

Moving to Europe for 3 years, plan for apps and long term

Hello y'all, I'm asking for some help with some long-term planning I want to do. I was a newbie a month ago, but ever since discovering this forum, I realized that I can get some help and feedback from som real experts!

Some DPs:

• Moving to France for a PhD in two months, for the next 3 years.
  • I've only had a Discover IT card for the past 6 years going from a $1250 SL to today $11,000 CL. (AoOA 6 yrs)
  • Even though I've been a newbie with that card, always PIF
  • I applied and got approved for (and now regret) a VentureOne card with a 25000 mile bonus this last month with a $5000 SL. I'll try to raise this, but from what I've read, not really feasible.
    Opened this since of SUB and it was a Visa; Visa/MC are always accepted in Paris
  • Salary was 45k, can't use as payslips since I stopped 2 months ago. Once I move, salary becomes 26k.
  • HPs : 1
  • Utilization: 0%
  • Exp Fico 8 is 775
  • Been banking with Chase (not interested in their Trifeca right now since of limited time and FTF)
  • Okay with multiple cards
  • Edit: no other loans/student loans

Goals:

• Want to be able to start a relationship with a CU. Not a lot of time before moving, but I like the idea of being with SDFCU/NFCU/Penfed. Also still have US address available.
  • Looking for reward cards/2% flat that have no FTF. (I should have gotten the SavorOne Smiley Sad). The biggest spending categories are probably going to be Groceries, Travel (once per year), and Dining in that order.

Questions and planning: