cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need a new bank + Auto loan & CC in future. Advice?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need a new bank + Auto loan & CC in future. Advice?

I've been banking with Bank of America for 6 years now. I'm currently located in a state (going to college) where the nearest BoA ATM/brick-and-mortar is an hour away. This isn't too big of a problem because of mobile deposit for checks and online banking.

I am interested in finding a new bank/CU for my checking account, one that is available where I am at now and back home when I'm home for the summers. This made me consider joining a credit union. Also, in the next 2-3 years, after I graduate, I would like to finance an automobile, so getting in now with a CU would benefit me down the road.

I have credit cards with Capital One (QS $750) and American Express (BCE $1,000) and scores of about 690. I have a credit history of 7 months, and hope to have a mid/high 700's score in 2-3 years when I'm ready for the auto loan.

I have been reading about NFCU and am very impressed. Apparently their online banking app is very smooth, I can use 50,000+ ATMs with no fees, and their auto rates look very good. I also would love to get one of their credit cards next summer due to their very generous limits.

I have also heard that USAA is very good too. I'm not affiliated with the military, but I've found ways from these forums by which you can join these CU's legitimately, this would be how I join NFCU or USAA.

I would like ideas as to where to switch my checking account to, next summer possibly get another CC, and in the future apply for a low-interest auto loan, all in one place.

Message 1 of 25
24 REPLIES 24
Blackswizz750
Established Contributor

Re: Need a new bank + Auto loan & CC in future. Advice?