cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice on a short-/mid-term CC app strategy…

tag
mikka1
Frequent Contributor

Need advice on a short-/mid-term CC app strategy…

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here and, saying frankly, I wish I found this board much earlier – most likely it would have helped me to avoid some of the mistakes I seemed to make in my CC apps. So here is my story :-)

Just a couple of words about myself – I moved to the US from another country less than a year ago, so I faced all the ‘fun’ of establishing a new credit history from scratch :-) By that time I only had a couple of checking accounts that I opened 3-4 years ago when I was here as an summer exchange student, but no credit here.

For some time I was mostly using my foreign CCs (I still do, as I have a small source of income abroad, so it’s pretty easy for me to repay my CC debts there), but in July I decided to give it a try and apply for some CCs here. Based on what I knew that time (unfortunately, without this community board), the easiest cards to go seemed to be store charge cards, so I started with Target card (as it appeared to be the most ‘rewarding’, giving 5% discount for all). Decline (not a surprise, probably). Then I decided to try Amazon Store card as I had a pretty long history of relationship with Amazon even from my exchange student times, but… Decline again.

At that point of time I started to seriously think about secured cards, but decided to give a try for the last time to the unsecured one choosing Cap1 Cash rewards for newcomers, and it was a first success with an instant approval of $500 CL! I don’t know what helped in my particular case, but probably my checking account with Cap1 with an average balance of $1k-$2k played some role here.