Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice on applying for new cards

tag
mondo84
Valued Member

Need advice on applying for new cards

Hey  guys,

I just signed up for MyFico to see my score because I'm interested in applying for a few new cards.  My score is 702 right now.  I opened three accounts in July 2010 (Chase Freedom, Discover More, Capital One No Hassle Rewards), and before that had two credit cards for 5 years or so (local FCU Visa and Amazon Visa). Basically I'm trying to open more accounts to benefit my score in the long run. I know that the score will go down upon opening new accounts, but I don't see any reason to believe it would be damaging.

The cards for which I'd like to apply are:

AmEx Blue Cash Everyday

AmEx Blue Sky (have a bonus offer code from mail)

REI VISA (from US Bank)

Citi Dividend Platinum Select Mastercard

Fidelity Investment Rewards AmEx

I'm a graduate student currently, so when I report my income it's < 30k. However, my spending is low and I am very responsible with credit & finances. The reason I'm applying for 5 cards (or maybe more if people have suggestions) at once is because otherwise applying for a few cards over a span of 6 mo or a year will be tougher for approval.  This way each lender won't see my most recent inquiry since it's practically simultaneous.

I'm nervous about going through with this out of fear that I'd be rejected by more than one/two cards.  Last July I also applied for AmEx Blue Cash but they denied me, and last October REI Visa turned me down mainly due to recent account openings and low debt/income ration (due to the higher rent I pay in my city).

Should I just pull the trigger and see what happens?  FWIW before signing up for this free trial I've been using CreditKarma for almost one year.  I know that score is not as accurate, but it does show the trend that my score has risen the past couple of months after adding new accounts last July.