Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Credit User - Balance Utilization and 0% Interest

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Credit User - Balance Utilization and 0% Interest

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the myFICO forum - an appreciative reader. I've tried to familiarize myself with the acronyms and frequently requested topics. I've also tried searching for answers to my questions. Please let me know if the answer to my question can be found within another thread.

I just opened a college credit card with USAA. The credit limit is $500 and I have 0% interest for 6 months. I'm a college student. I have NO established credit aside from recent creation (<4 months) of a Comcast account. My student loans are currently in my parents' names.

Questions:
1. With 0% interest, I'd like to feel comfortable making purchases up to around 80-85% utilization, and I'd like to be able to carry that balance for a month or two. I have much more than $500 pre-allocated for credit pay-off in a savings account, and it will always be kept available specifically for the purpose of paying off the credit balance. Am I starting off on the wrong foot with this paradigm? Will it hurt my credit? Will it not make a difference?

2. If I reach 85% utilization during the month but pay it down to, say, 30% or 8% utilization before the official statement generation, how will this affect me? Does it change anything?

I'm trying to develop a "good practice" methodology for this specific card while I pay 0% interest and then make modifications to that methodology once the card transitions to its full interest rate.

Thanks much for any advice you may have!

Arctos

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: New Credit User - Balance Utilization and 0% Interest

Hi, welcome to the forums, and congrats on the card!