cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New cards + when should I close AF cards?

tag
whitewolf361
Established Member

New cards + when should I close AF cards?

I’m new to MyFico forums. I recently was approved for 3 credit cards: HSBC CASH Rewards $1750; Discover it chrome $1500; and Target Credit $1000.
Cards before that: CapOne QS Visa $3260; CapOne QS MC (former Plat) $2000; Ulta store $1550; GameStop $1280; Merrick (AF) $1400; Credit One (AF) $550; Shell store $600 (for initial gas savings). Oldest card is Quicksilver MC at over 2 years, then GameStop and about a year & a half. I’d like to get rid of Merrick & Credit One with annual fees, but unsure when to. Merrick has a balance that should be paid off soon, Credit One doesn’t - Merrick charges per month; Credit One yearly. Merrick is one year & 3 months I think; Credit One about 9 months old.
Also, I feel like eventually I would want to combine the Quicksilver cards, but one is my oldest account, so unsure when I should do that, if I should.
EQ FICO is 634, HSBC pull showed 675 (haven’t paid for all FICO scores in about 5 months). I have 4 charge-off from late 2013/early 2014. that I am rebuilding from.
Cards on wishlist (someday): Citi DoubleCash; Discover it (regular); Chase Freedom or BofA Cash Rewards (possibly both, but I like the idea of the 3-2-1 rewards).
(IQs would be about 4 or 5 before Disco, HSBC, & Target (included a HP for apartment lease, and car loan).

Curious if anyone can offer advice on when to close the cards with AF, and if I should eventually combine the CapOne cards. Thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES 7
K-in-Boston
Credit Mentor

Re: New cards + when should I close AF cards?