cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit- Any tips

tag
Prodr222

New to Credit- Any tips

Hi, I´m new to the whole credit system and was wondering if anyone had any tips for me. I have a HH Greg charge card with a $3000 Cl that i opened up a year ago and a Wells Fargo Secured card with a $600 Cl that i opened up 4 months ago. Experian ¨possibly fako score is 723¨and my equifax is 681. Anways my debt is at 48% to credit because of my HH account which i used to buy a tv. I am studying abroad during the spring and am hoping to have enough credit to get a card without a froeign transaction fee. Before this i will have paid off the HH remaining balance. Any advice what to do/ what card to get. As always any general advice on how to improve my score.

thanks

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: New to Credit- Any tips

@Prodr222 wrote:

Hi, I´m new to the whole credit system and was wondering if anyone had any tips for me. I have a HH Greg charge card with a $3000 Cl that i opened up a year ago and a Wells Fargo Secured card with a $600 Cl that i opened up 4 months ago. Experian ¨possibly fako score is 723¨and my equifax is 681. Anways my debt is at 48% to credit because of my HH account which i used to buy a tv. I am studying abroad during the spring and am hoping to have enough credit to get a card without a froeign transaction fee. Before this i will have paid off the HH remaining balance. Any advice what to do/ what card to get. As always any general advice on how to improve my score.

thanks

Get your overall utilization down below 9% and call in to GE (hhgregg) and request a CLI on that card. It will be a SP. I would app for a Cap1 card the offer no FTF's but it will almost certainly cost you 3 HP's. Go for the cash rewards card for average credit.

EQ FICO 548 3/3/16
Message 2 of 5
jamesdwi
Valued Contributor