Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit

tag
nobo24
Established Member

New to Credit

Hi all, I’m new to credit and hoping to get some advice. Back in November, I applied for the Discover It student card and was denied. This surprised me, as I’d heard it was generally available to people without credit history (I also have a full-time job, making 33k/ yr while I finish school). Long story short, I learned I had 2 collections accounts from medical debt I incurred while I was still an 18 y/o high school student! I paid them off, got a good will deletion, and opened a Discover It Secured in the meantime. Obviously, my credit file is too new for me to have a FICO score. Nonetheless, I thought I might try again for a student card since I no longer have the collections accounts on my CR. I just applied for the BoA Cash Rewards Student, and was denied again! Now I’m worried the extra HP within 2.5 mos of opening the Discover will make me look desperate for credit. In reality, I’m just trying to open a few cards as soon as possible so that my accounts can age while I’m in school. My question is, how bad will the recent HP look to creditors, and how should I proceed? Should I get another secured card? Or do I just need to cool it for awhile until I’ve built up more history, then go for an unsecured? Any advice is appreciated. Sorry for the long post!
9 REPLIES 9
thornback
Senior Contributor

Re: New to Credit

You can wait til you generate a score (6 months history) then try again.   The hard inquiries will become unscoreable when they age to exactly 365 days but will remain as a record for a full two years.  I wouldn't worry too much about a few inquiries -- when you're just starting out, inquiries are a necessary evil.   Once you get a foundation of cards (at least 3) you will have to just sit on them for a while to let them, and the inquiries, age.