cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to boards/Opinion wanted! Recon or Garden?

tag
Courtyj725
Established Member

New to boards/Opinion wanted! Recon or Garden?

Hello!

I am new to MyFico and have pulled 2 out of my 3 scores.

I first learned about Myfico after googling regarding Chase Freedom "not enough info, get back to you in 7-10 days" schpiel after applying.

I'd like to know what folks think regarding a few things and see if I can get some advice from those with success stories on here!

About me:

Barclays Visa (Apple) $1700 limit

Capital One Platinum Mastercard $2000 limit

Sallie Mae Student Loans ($13,000)

All accts in good standing.

2 neg marks on EX totaling no more than $130 bucks. One medical and one subscription to book club that i never agreed to. Both paid & closed.

No late payments.

Pay twice the minimum on each cc every month.

FICO EQ: 650 FICO EX: 640 as of 6/17/13

So, I applied for a Chase Freedom card 5/1/13 and got the 7-10 day response.

I also applied for the Citi Simplicity card 5/1/13 and got denied.

I googled and found the boards back door number for Chase and called to try and get approved.

Things were looking good until they found a $738 tax judgment on my acct.

I had no idea and didn't ever recall any tax debt going to collection but last year did owe taxes and was paying monthly, so I assumed somehow it got on my report.

I was told denial because of judgment and for high balances on two ccs.

I explained I just got a new job in Feb and can now consistently pay down credit but intend to transfer balance to new card because interest on others is too high and makes effective debt reduction more difficult.

After denial, I  wanted to see what else was on my credit reports and pulled my free reports for the year.

Turns out the judgment wasn't mine!