Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Credit Help!

tag
EmilyHeather

Newbie Credit Help!

HI all,

I'm a college student looking to build some credit for a future car loan or apparment. I currently have a checking and savings account with TD bank, both good standing. I have $3500 in student loans that are deffered until October 2015. I work two part time jobs and make $11,000 annually

I have learned a little about credit online and tried for a Target card a year ago or so. Denied

Then in April I tried for another store card at a clothing retailer. Denied

Tried for a card at my employers in May. Denied.

I figured I should stop applying b/c lord knows what that does and I remember reading if you apply too much it makes you look desperate and you'll keep getting denied.

Then I went into my bank and asked to get some info on their credit cards. TD doesnt really seem to be known for their cards you know. I got some info and figured I'd apply. I did this 6/29. They told me I'd be notified by mail, which to me just means denied.

I was reading about good first time credit cards esp. for students and decided to try the CitiForward Card. I just applied and it says under 'Approval Status': Application Accepted. then a message about how they need further processing time. I'm figuring I'm denied. I decided to look on myFICO for info and found myself looking at my credit reports from T/U and Ex.

T/U says I have a satisfactory account with my studnet loan company. and one inquiry.

Exper- 0 negative 1 good standing

I'm waiting to see what the message is from CIti and TD but I'm assuming they're both denials. I dont know what to do!

Any help would be great.

Message 1 of 47
46 REPLIES 46
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Newbie Credit Help!

Do you mind sharing your scores?  I think no matter what for now you should stop applying and you should read this forum for a couple weeks and then re attack!

Message 2 of 47
cmthomas06
Regular Contributor