Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[Newbie needs help] When to apply for more credit cards

tag
DanielQin

[Newbie needs help] When to apply for more credit cards

Hello everyone,

I am still a student in school, but I will be start working mid-next-year.

Currently I have one Discover IT with CL 1600 since Feb 2012 and FICO 725

I had like 10 HPs because of my car loan(darn it), I just managed to paid it off this month.

I have tried to use my CC better and my Credit Utilization is around 10%`15% average.

Discover just gave me really hard time to increase my CL....

And it is not the best card I want to have...

I want three cards the most,  

1.Amex Blue Cash Preferred.

2.Chase Sapphire Preferred

3. Chase Marriot 

or maybe Barclay reward master card 

That fico score is before I got my loan paid off so it is not up-to-date.

When do you guys think I should apply for more card?

Any suggestions will be appreciated!!

Thanks

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: [Newbie needs help] When to apply for more credit cards

IMHO It would be best to wait till you have a steady work based income prior to apping for more cards, with just student income it will be hard to obtain the cards that you seek.

Message 2 of 11
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

@gdale6 wrote:

IMHO It would be best to wait till you have a steady work based income prior to apping for more cards, with just student income it will be hard to obtain the cards that you seek.

+1

Message 3 of 11
DanielQin

Thanks...

But with that being said, some of my friends(maybe just lucky...) got more than what listed on there...

And I mean I have 100% tuition grant plus living fee so that is like more than 65k per year of income...

..What do you think ?

Message 4 of 11
DavidZeng
Regular Contributor