Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PIF or leave a small balance?

tag
farmgirljen
Valued Member

PIF or leave a small balance?

Is it better to pay in full or carry a tiny less than 10% balance? I am new to this CC thing, and while i paid it in full last month, I failed to do so prior to my statement being released, so it showed a high balance(I bought a large $ item on the card and then   PIF) and my score dropped due to carrying a large balance...so I am wanting to see if it will go up when the next statement is released, but will it be better to have a 0 balance or a $26 balance.....

Starting Score: EQ 581,NO TU
Current Score: TU 676, EQ 663 EX 653
Goal Score: 700

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: PIF or leave a small balance?

@farmgirljen wrote:

Is it better to pay in full or carry a tiny less than 10% balance? I am new to this CC thing, and while i paid it in full last month, I failed to do so prior to my statement being released, so it showed a high balance(I bought a large $ item on the card and then   PIF) and my score dropped due to carrying a large balance...so I am wanting to see if it will go up when the next statement is released, but will it be better to have a 0 balance or a $26 balance.....

You never have to carry a balance forward which also means paying interest. Is this your only card? Each month have it report a small balance (1-9% of credit limit) on your monthly statement and then pay in full before the due date to avoid finance charges.

If you have more than one card try and have only one of them report that 1-9% utilization and the others show a zero balance on statements. The reason for this is FICO likes to see less than half of revolving accounts reporting a balance.

Optimal credit utilization for FICO scoring purposes seems to be:
Total revolving and individual utilization > 0 and < 9%, the lower the better, and