cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay in full or let it ride?

tag
PaidinFull5

Pay in full or let it ride?

I've been rebuilding my credit since 2016 when I filed BK on only 13k. I currently own a home, financed car (6k left on loan) and have 4 CC with combined credit of 37k. I just opened my first Amex card and it came with a 2k limit 🫤 I pay all my cards in full each month but the Amex I had plans to take advantage of the 0% for a purchase of $1,411. Should I make the purchase and just pay it in full or would taking advantage of the 0% for 15 months be okay since all other cards carry no balance? 

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Pay in full or let it ride?

@PaidinFull5 wrote:

I've been rebuilding my credit since 2016 when I filed BK on only 13k. I currently own a home, financed car (6k left on loan) and have 4 CC with combined credit of 37k. I just opened my first Amex card and it came with a 2k limit 🫤 I pay all my cards in full each month but the Amex I had plans to take advantage of the 0% for a purchase of $1,411. Should I make the purchase and just pay it in full or would taking advantage of the 0% for 15 months be okay since all other cards carry no balance? 

Welcome @PaidinFull5 

Which card? Whats the credit limit? When you say pay off all the cards is that before statement date or after? If nothing reports a balance. You lose points.

Message 2 of 14
PaidinFull5

I pay the day I get the statement from the bank on all my cards. I recently got my first Amex card with a 2k limit and what I needed it for cost $1,411. I dont know if I should go through with the purchase. I can pay for this purchase in full but Amex blue cash everyday has a $250 bonus when you spend 2K and 15 months of 0% apr. So even though this purchase will take me close to 75% utilization, I am worried that Amex would consider me a risk and likely not up my limit in the future..

Message 3 of 14
Remedios