cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying Rent with CC to Earn Rewards - Which is Best?

tag
grower1
Frequent Contributor

Paying Rent with CC to Earn Rewards - Which is Best?

Hello,

My community has recently offered the ability to pay rent via credit card. I have been paying it for about 3 years using my bank account - ($2200 per month). I was wondering which of my cards would earn the best points or rewards if I used it for rent. I would like to earn for this bill and put more spend through my card. I would PIF as soon as the charges appear. Is one card better than the other or are they all about the same?

Current Cards:

Discover IT

Amex Blue Cash Everyday

Barclay's Rewards Mastercard

Capitol One Platinum

Capitol One Quick Silver

Chase Freedom

Chase Slate - No Rewards

Victoria's Secret - Not eligible lol

Thanks for your opinions!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Paying Rent with CC to Earn Rewards - Which is Best?

@grower1 wrote:

Hello,

My community has recently offered the ability to pay rent via credit card. I have been paying it for about 3 years using my bank account - ($2200 per month). I was wondering which of my cards would earn the best points or rewards if I used it for rent. I would like to earn for this bill and put more spend through my card. I would PIF as soon as the charges appear. Is one card better than the other or are they all about the same?

Current Cards:

Discover IT

Amex Blue Cash Everyday

Capitol One Platinum

Capitol One Quick Silver

Chase Freedom

Chase Slate - No Rewards

Does the landlord charge a fee? I would go with the citi double cash or open a new discover it miles to get 2-3% back in the first year. Or open the American Express Platinum(Charles Schwab) you can cash out the 60k sign up bonus for $750 if you have a schwab brokerage. Lots to consider, but think abut added processing fee vs standard rewards.

Message 2 of 11
EAJuggalo
Established Contributor